Making the best R&D in micro-organisms, biofertilizers and biopesticides accessible

MAKING THE BEST R&D in MICRO-ORGANISMS, BIOFERTILIZERS AND BIOPESTICIDES ACCESSIBLE

Antenna and its daughter company ELEPHANT VERT produce micro-organisms, biofertilizers and biopesticides with the aim of making these available to as many farmers as possible.

LOCALLY PRODUCING AN INNOVATIVE PRODUCT RANGE

Developing local production of biofertilizers and biopesticides is a means to facilitate distribution at more affordable prices. It also allows us to offer solutions closer to the specific needs of local farmers.

ELEPHANT VERT has created a research laboratory to develop a method of producing biofertilizers using local agricultural waste. This is a mixture selected for high yield microbial strains, similar to conventional fertilizers.

In our production units in Morocco and Mali we have started manufacturing biofertilizers. In Morocco, the plant will be fully operational by late 2014 and will be the largest production unit of organic fertilizer rich in beneficial bacteria in the world.

We also design biopesticides, which are at least as effective if not more effective than conventional pesticides, and are natural and affordable. For instance, we have developed two wettable powders of concentrated pathogenic micro-mushrooms. The active material in one of them is Purpureocillium lilacinum and in the other one is a mix of strains from Trichoderma. In general, ELEPHANT VERT works more with pathogenic agents against pests: micro-mushrooms, bacteria and virus which have the property of infecting harmful organisms without affecting beneficial organisms while respecting biodiversity, including bees and parasitoids.

SUPPORTING THE DISSEMINATION OF THIS OFFER ON THE GROUND

Designed as a knowledge exchange platform, the « Plant Clinic« , hosted by our experts – agronomists, agricultural technicians and business professionals – allows farmers to form or strengthen their capacities on the use of micro-organisms in the soil and biopesticides, as well as on techniques that promote their optimal use (irrigation, agricultural practices, monitoring).

It is also the ideal place to advise and support farmers at every stage, in all production sectors and in association with technical partners and local authorities that monitor agricultural activities.

The « Plant Clinic » also serves to conduct the field tests required by the Research & Development Department.

Rendre accessible le meilleur de la R&D en micro-organismes, biofertilisants et biopesticides

RENDRE ACCESSIBLE LE MEILLEUR DE LA R&D EN MICRO-ORGANISMES, BIOFERTILISANTS ET BIOPESTICIDES

Antenna et sa société ELEPHANT VERT produisent des micro-organismes, biofertilisants et biopesticides en vue de les démocratiser auprès du plus grand nombre d’agriculteurs.

PRODUIRE LOCALEMENT UNE OFFRE INNOVANTE

Développer la production locale de biofertilisants et de biopesticides constitue un moyen d’en faciliter la distribution à des prix plus abordables. Cela permet aussi de proposer des solutions au plus près des besoins spécifiques des agriculteurs locaux.

ELEPHANT VERT a ainsi créé un laboratoire de recherche pour le développement d’un procédé de fabrication de biofertilisants valorisant les déchets agricoles locaux. Il s’agit d’un mélange de souches microbiennes sélectionnées pour leur haut rendement, comparable à celui des engrais conventionnels.

Dans nos unités de production au Maroc et au Mali, des biofertilisants ont commencé à être produits. Au Maroc, l’usine sera complètement opérationnelle fin 2014 et constituera la plus grande unité de production d’engrais organique riche en bactéries utiles dans le monde.

Nous concevons également des biopesticides à l’efficacité au moins équivalente aux pesticides conventionnels, voire supérieure, tout en étant naturels et abordables. Il en est ainsi de deux poudres mouillables de microchampignons pathogènes concentrés. La matière active de l’un estPurpureocillium lilacinum alors que l’autre est un mélange de souches de Trichoderma. Plus généralement, ELEPHANT VERT privilégie la piste des pathogènes de ravageurs : des microchampignons, des bactéries et des virus qui ont la propriété d’infecter les organismes nuisibles, sans impact sur les organismes bénéfiques et respectueux de la biodiversité, comme les abeilles et les parasitoïdes.

ACCOMPAGNER LA DIFFUSION DE CETTE OFFRE SUR LE TERRAIN

Conçue comme une plateforme d’échanges et de partage, la « Clinique des plantes », animée par nos experts -des ingénieurs agronomes, des techniciens agronomes et des commerciaux- permet de former les exploitants agricoles, ou de renforcer leurs capacités, quant à l’utilisation des micro-organismes du sol et des biopesticides, et des techniques favorisant leur utilisation optimale (irrigation, pratiques agricoles, suivi).

C’est aussi le lieu privilégié pour les conseiller et les accompagner à chaque étape, dans toutes les filières de production et en partenariat avec les partenaires techniques et les instances locales référents pour les activités agricoles.

La « Clinique des plantes » sert aussi à réaliser tous les essais de terrain dont le Département de Recherche & Développement a besoin.