Antenna India

ANTENNA INDIA : A STRONG NETWORK

Antenna Trust was established with the strategic, technical and financial support of Antenna Technologies in Geneva, in Switzerland. Today it manages several programmes in the State of Tamil Nadu.

SPIRULINA AND SOCIAL MARKETING PROGRAMMES

The objective of Antenna Trust is to empower rural women and children in combating malnutrition through the local production and distribution of spirulina. The Antenna research centre on spirulina production in Madurai conducts clinical tests on the effectiveness of spirulina. It also runs training programmes on its production.

ECOPARK : A CENTRE WHERE MICRO-GARDENING, SPIRALING AND MICROCREDIT CONVERGE

The Ecopark of Madurai aims to promote the technological and financial means to reduce extreme poverty and malnutrition. The values of sustainable development  and maximising local traditions are core to the project.

The Ecopark site occupies two hectares of land, where some 30 people work on a range of activities:

  • Awareness-building on environmental and health issues for women and children
  • Spirulina cultivation: spirulina is grown in about 10 growth ponds of some 20 m² each site. The monthly harvest is 50 kg. It is given to children in doses of one gram daily, an amount sufficient for children to recover from vitamin A and iron deficiencies. Several villages already operate a production farm in collaboration with Ecopark.
  • Cultivation of medicinal plants and herbs
  • Market gardening in family plots
  • Training in nutrition and cultivation in nutrition gardens. Women are taught how to improve their family’s daily nutritional diet with available resources, to prepare balanced menus and to include spirulina in meals and in weaning foods.
  • Fish farming: one autonomous project is underway in raising and marketing ornamental fish, providing a unique apprenticeship opportunity for children.
  • Microcredit: facilitating access to microcredit for rural women, in order to strengthen the local rural economy, as well as boost their autonomy.

More: www.antennaindia.org

Antenna India

ANTENNA INDE : UN RÉSEAU SOLIDE

Antenne Trust a été établi avec le soutien stratégique, technique et financier d’Antenna Technologies à Genève, en Suisse. L’organisation gère aujourd’hui plusieurs programmes dans l’état du Tamil Nadu.

PROGRAMME DE SPIRULINE

L’objectif d’Antenna Trust est de permettre aux femmes et aux enfants des communautés rurales de lutter contre la malnutrition grâce à la production et la distribution locale de spiruline. Le Centre de recherche sur la production de spiruline d’Antenna à Maduraï mène des tests cliniques sur l’efficacité de la spiruline et des programmes de formations pour sa production.

L’ECOPARK, UN CENTRE DE NUTRITION ET DE FORMATION

L’objectif de l’Ecopark de Maduraï est la promotion de moyens technologiques et économiques pour réduire l’extrême pauvreté et la malnutrition. Le développement durable et la valorisation des traditions locales sont au cœur du projet.

L’Ecopark est un site d’environ 2 hectares de terre, où travaille une trentaine de personnes sur un ensemble d’activités :

  • Cours de sensibilisation en environnement et santé pour les femmes et les enfants
  • Culture de spiruline : la spiruline est produite dans une dizaine de bassins de 20 m2 chacun sur le site. La récolte est de 50kg par mois. Elle est distribuée aux enfants à raison d’un gramme par jour, ce qui est suffisant pour rétablir des enfants qui souffrent de carences en vitamine A et en fer. Plusieurs villages poursuivent une production de spiruline en collaboration avec l’Ecoparc.
  • Culture de plantes et d’herbes médicinales
  • Culture maraîchère en jardins familiaux
  • Formations en nutrition et culture de jardins nutritionnels. On apprend aux femmes à améliorer la ration nutritionnelle journalière de leur famille avec les moyens à disposition, à composer des menus équilibrés et à insérer la spiruline dans les repas ou les bouillies de sevrage.
  • Pisciculture : un projet autonome pour l’élevage et la commercialisation de poissons ornementaux, une expérience d’apprentissage unique pour les enfants
  • Microcrédit : faciliter l’accès au microcrédit pour les femmes rurales afin de renforcer l’économie rurale et l’autonomie des femmes

Plus d’informations : www.antennaindia.org