Microcredit

MICROCREDIT MEANS BUILD THE FUTURE

Microcredit helps to create income-generating activities and the acquisition of technologies in developing countries.

Our indian partner Antenna Trust runs a microcredit programme in the Tamil Nadu State.

The objective is to help Indian women living in rural areas to develop an income generating activity.

The poorest of the poor, misunderstood by conventional banks, do not normally have access to bank loans at low rates on interest. When they can borrow, it is from local money-lenders whom they often cannot repay in full. This downward spiral of indebtedness casts them cruelly into even more abject poverty.

Antenna Microcredit Network is a savings and microcredit programme operating in the State of Tamil Nadu in India, with support from Antenna Technologies in Geneva. The programme has been led by our partner Antenna Trust since 2006. The objective of AMCN is to create a more efficient microcredit facilitation model ensuring greater benefits for the poorest of the poor. It also aims to promote the importance of a proper nutrition and spirulina as a source of nutrients.

The programme enables women living in rural areas to escape the clutches of loan sharks and spiralling debt. These women can get loans for education and training purposes and set up small businesses (production and marketing of vegetables, fruits, grains, livestock rearing, small shops, tea and coffee shops and bars, etc).

AMCN FEATURES

  • Non-profit organisation, based on the principle of diminishing interest rates
  • Local jobs created and credit officers employed by the network
  • Network of NGOs accompanying self-help groups, for processing of loan applications and loan repayments
  • Thousands of women borrowers
  • Reimbursement rate = 98%. The unrecovered 2% was due to death or illness of the borrower

Loans are obtained, distributed and managed through self-help groups, which guarantee repayment of the loan by their members on time and a productive use of the loan.

SOCIAL RESPONSIBILITY

Antenna Trust also funds activities carried out through the NGO network, such as human rights awareness campaigns, educational projects (training, tutoring, granting of scholarships), spirulina food supplementation, insurance coverage for the families of the beneficiaries, and financial projects (support to managers of SMEs and kiosks).

TEAM

R. Devamanoharan, Antenna Trust, Maduraï, et les 15 employés d’Antenna Microcredit Network

Denis von der Weid, Antenna Foundation, Geneva

Yves Burrus, Antenna Foundation, Geneva

PARTNERS

More than 22 local NGOs of the network

Plus d’informations : www.antennamicrofinance.org

SOLIDARITY-BASED MICROFINANCE SERVICES TO BUILD THE FUTURE

Poor people in developing countries are unable to access financial services because they have no guarantees to offer. They are therefore forced to apply to moneylenders who demand excessive interest rates. Access to simple, fast and low-cost financial services – such as loans, insurance coverage or savings account – provides perspectives for the poor and significantly enhances the condition of women. They enable those who are directly concerned to take ownership of project decisions while learning to manage them.

Microcredit to access Antenna’s technologies

Antenna is testing new economic models in order to disseminate its essential technologies to the most destitute.

  • Agriculture programme: Antenna and Éléphant Vert, a subsidiary of the Foundation based in Morocco, are developing a microfinancing model to distribute biological fertilizers and pesticides to farmers, with the assistance of local partners.
  • Energy programme: A system of « micro-leasing » is introduced in the solar lighting system « OOLUX » developed by Antenna. This is based on spreading the payments over a specified period of time. In practice, the instalments are covered by the amount of money saved from no longer having to buy kerosene. Technically, an electronic system activates the equipment after payment and for a certain length of time, until payment of the following instalment. Learn more

Microcrédit

MICROCRÉDIT : DES MOYENS POUR CONSTRUIRE L'AVENIR

Notre partenaire en Inde Antenna Trust mène un programme de microcrédit dans l’Etat du Tamil Nadu. L’objectif est d’aider des femmes indiennes vivant en milieu rural à développer une activité génératrice de revenus.

Les familles les plus pauvres, ignorées par les banques conventionnelles, ne peuvent accéder aux prêts bancaires avec un taux d’intérêt bas. Si elles peuvent emprunter, c’est auprès d’usuriers locaux qu’elles n’arrivent souvent plus à rembourser. La spirale de l’endettement les jette dans une misère encore plus profonde.

AMCN (The Antenna Microcredit Network) est un programme d’épargne et de microcrédit mené par Antenna Trust depuis 2006 dans l’Etat du Tamil Nadu en Inde, grâce au soutien d’Antenna Technologies à Genève.

L’objectif d’AMCN est de créer un modèle d’accès au microcrédit plus efficace, afin d’assurer de plus grands avantages pour les plus pauvres. Il vise également à promouvoir l’importance d’une bonne nutrition et de la spiruline comme source de nutriments.

Le programme aide les femmes des zones rurales à se libérer de l’emprise des usuriers et de la spirale de l’endettement. Elles peuvent obtenir un prêt pour une formation, ou pour concrétiser une petite entreprise (culture maraîchère et vente de fruits, légumes et céréales, élevage de bétail et volailles, petits commerces de toute sorte et cafés-restaurants, etc).

CARACTÉRISTIQUES DE AMCN

  • Organisme sans but lucratif, reposant sur le principe du taux d’intérêt dégressif
  • Des emplois locaux créés et 120 « credit officers » employés par le réseau
  • Réseau de 22 ONG accompagnant près de 2 000 groupes d’entraide pour les demandes de prêt et les remboursements
  • Des milliers de femmes bénéficiant d’un prêt
  • Taux de remboursement de 98%. Les 2% restants sont dus aux décès et aux maladies des bénéficiaires
  • Les emprunts sont obtenus, distribués et gérés par l’intermédiaire des groupes d’entraide. Ceux-ci garantissent le remboursement de l’emprunt par ses membres dans les délais impartis et une utilisation productive du prêt.

RESPONSABILITÉ SOCIALE

Antenna Trust finance aussi des activités implantées par l’intermédiaire du réseau d’ONG, tels que des campagnes d’information sur les droits de l’homme, des projets éducationnels (soutien scolaire, formations, octroi de bourses d’études) et nutritionnels (distribution de spiruline). Elle couvre l’assurance des familles des bénéficiaires et apporte un soutien financier (soutien à la gestion de petites entreprise et de kiosques).

ÉQUIPE

R. Devamanoharan, Antenna Trust, Maduraï, et les 15 employés d’Antenna Microcredit Network

Denis von der Weid, Antenna Technologies, Genève

Yves Burrus, Antenna Technologies, Genève

PARTENAIRES

Les 22 ONG locales du réseau AMCN

Plus d’informations : www.antennamicrofinance.org

DES SERVICES MICROFINANCIERS SOLIDAIRES POUR CONSTRUIRE L’AVENIR

Les pauvres des pays en développement n’ont pas accès à des services financiers en raison de leur absence de garanties. Ils sont ainsi contraints de recourir aux usuriers qui pratiquent des taux faramineux. L’accès à des services financiers de base, simples, rapides et peu coûteux – tels que l’obtention d’un prêt, une assurance ou un compte d’épargne – donne des perspectives aux pauvres et contribuent à une forte amélioration du statut des femmes. Ils permettent aussi aux populations directement concernées de s’approprier les décisions de projets en apprenant à les gérer.

Le microcrédit pour un accès aux technologies Antenna

Antenna teste de nouveaux modèles économiques afin de diffuser les technologies essentielles qu’elle développe auprès des plus pauvres.

  • Programme Agriculture : Antenna et Eléphant Vert au Maroc, société émanant de la fondation, développent un projet de microfinance pour diffuser les fertilisants et pesticides biologiques auprès des agriculteurs en relation avec des partenaires locaux. En savoir plus
  • Programme Energie : Un système de « micro-financement » est introduit dans la solution solaire OOLUX développée par Antenna. Celui-ci est basé sur l’étalement des paiements sur une période déterminée. Dans la pratique, les tranches à payer sont obtenues grâce aux économies faites sur le kérosène remplacé. Techniquement, un système électronique active l’appareil après paiement et pour une certaine durée, jusqu’au paiement de la prochaine tranche. En savoir plus